60 Smith Street
07 3286 3494
The Moreton Bay Islands have a rich history, from the local indigenous people for more than 25,000 years, to Mathew Flinders exploration of the islands in 1799, followed by European settlement and farming in the 19th century.
The Russell Island (Canaipa) Museum is a sub-branch of the Redland Museum. Many of its exhibits reflect rural activities which once shaped the island’s landscape with many artefacts reflecting activities such as farming and logging. The trappings of everyday life in the 19th century are also there to see.
Being girt by sea, the Museum also has numerous exhibits which focus on waterborne travel, including photographs of the many and varied vessels that have plied the waters of Moreton Bay such as the fruit boat Ivanhoe.
Russell Island is situated in the internationally recognised Moreton Bay Marine Park. The Island is renowned for its bush walks, freshwater swamps, wildflowers and birdlife. Passenger and car ferries run regularly from Redland Bay on the mainland to the island.
Museum Address: 55 Jackson Road opposite the Bowls Club, Russell Island
For further information please phone:
Brendan on 3409 1451 or 0414 303 047
Kay on 3409 2085 or 0408 153 245